1.2. What are the different types of visa?

Types of visa


Airport Transit Visa (Category A) [ATV]

An Airport Transit Visa (ATV) entitles aliens who are required to possess such a visa to pass through the international transit area of Cypriot airports without actually entering the territory of the Republic of Cyprus, during a stop-over or transfer between two stages of an international flight. The ATV is an exception to the general right to transit without a visa through Cyprus. Please click here to view the list of countries, whose citizens are required to be in possession of an airport transit visa when passing through the international transit area of airports situated on the territory of the Republic of Cyprus.

Short-stay Visa (Category C)

This visa entitles aliens to enter the territory of the Republic of Cyprus, for reasons other than immigration, for a max period of 90 days within 6 months.

Multiple entry Visa (Category C)

Multiple entry Visas (up to 5 years) are granted to third country nationals who provide proof of frequent visits to Cyprus and other EU countries. Similarly to the Short stay Visa, the duration of stay should not exceed the three months in any half year, starting from the date of first entry.

Visa issued at the border (Category C)

Short-stay and ATVs can be exceptionally granted (only in emergency cases and following the approval of the Director of the Civil Registry and Migration Department) upon arrival at the legal ports of entry in the Republic.

Visa Extension (Category C)

Holders of Category C visa may apply at the local Alien and Immigration Unit for an extension of their visa for a period up to 90 days from the date of entry, within 6 months.  In case the granted visa bears the indication “Final”, the prior approval of the Schengen and Consular Affairs Division of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is compulsory. 

The Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus in Beijing can issue the following types of visas:

  • Airport Transit Visa (Category A) [ATV]
  • Short-stay Visa (Category C)
  • Multiple enty Visa (Category C)